Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely

9781408884614A Curse so Dark and Lonely
Brigid Kemmerer
Young Adult/Fantasy
Published by Bloomsbury UK on 29/01/2019

Rating: ♥♥♥♥HALF

Synopsis:

Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall, is cursed. Forced to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he can only be freed by love. But at the end of each autumn he is transformed into a beast hell-bent on destruction, and after so many failed attempts, his kingdom and its people are barely holding on.

Harper’s life has never been easy, but she’s learned to be tough enough to survive. She won’t let anything hold her back, not her cerebral palsy or her mother’s deteriorating health. But when she is sucked into Rhen’s world, nothing is as it seems. Powerful forces are standing against Emberfall … and it will take more than a broken curse to save it from utter ruin.

Review:

I have been a big fan of Brigid’s books for a fair few years now. So when I heard she was writing a full on fantasy I was SOLD. I would like to put out there that Beauty and the Beast isn’t my favourite tale for a retelling but oh my, did this book make me think again!!

One of the things I have always loved in Brigid’s previous books is her characters. Again she delivers in this book. Each character is fleshed out and feels real, even when in Emberfall. I felt like I was in both Rhen and Harper’s shoes as we alternated throughout the book. (Dual point of view is always a win for me!) I adored Grey also and the relationships the 3 of them built with each other and everyone around them. I love how there were characters and moments to really make your feelings go to war with themselves.

This book also avoided one of my least favourite things in a fantasy, a world info dump at the start of the book. It read so smoothly and it was great to learn about the world as Harper did. At no point did I feel pulled out of the story because too much information was trying to be squashed in.

The writing throughout the book was flawless. I never felt like a character did or said something weird or that something didn’t make sense. I could believe it all.

The only thing I am mad about is that the book is over and I NEED more. Also I need more Grey in my life. He is my favourite character from this book and that ending. OH BOY. I cannot wait for another book in the series!

I highly recommend you check this book out when it releases (or PRE-ORDER it!) and if you haven’t read any of Brigid’s previous books, now is a great time to start. I think of her Elemental often with great fondness. Even if you aren’t into paranormal, I still urge you to give them a try. The characters are to die for.

Thank you to Bloomsbury UK for this netgalley eARC in exchange for an honest review.

**Please support independent UK bookshops by buying locally or from Hive.co.uk who give a percent of each purchase to a UK independent bookshop of your choice. I am not affiliated with Hive, just spreading the word to support our high street.**

Fiona

x

3 thoughts on “Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely

  1. Pingback: 100 Truths Tag – FINDING THE PLOT

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Favourite Books of 2018 – FINDING THE PLOT

Leave a comment